Standing Ovations for the Milestones in Logistics History

  • Journey in time through the great moments of logistics history: 13 new members inducted into the Hall of Fame to resounding applause at a ceremony in the Federal Transport Ministry.
  • Festive gala dinner at the German Transport Ministry in Berlin.

Ismaning near Munich/Berlin, November 29, 2016.   Magic moments in the historic Erich Klausener Hall of the German Transport Ministry in Berlin: on Tuesday evening, 170 guests of honour from politics, academia, industry and the media celebrated the official induction of the newly selected members into the logistics pantheon with standing ovations.

The glass-and-metal certificate was presented by the laudatory speakers of the evening, Dorothee Bär, Parliamentary State Secretary and Member of the German Bundestag Parliament, Hans-Otto Schrader, CEO of the Otto Group, Prof. Dr. Katja Windt, President of Jacobs University Bremen, Hall of Fame member Detthold Aden, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Kersten, Director of the Institute of Business Logistics and General Management at the TU Hamburg-Harburg, the Executive Director of the Federal Central Cooperative for Road Transport (SVG), Werner Gockeln, and Dr. Jochen Köckler, member of the Board of Deutsche Messe AG. With their moving words of tribute, they honoured the achievements of the logistics pioneers and took the audience on a journey in time through the some of the defining moments of logistics history.

The Logistics Hall of Fame dedicated the 2016 vote to the “Historic Milestones of Logistics” in order to document outstanding achievements in logistics recorded before the year 2000. The new inductees include Franz von Taxis and Johann Baptista von Taxis, founders of the international postal system, Henry Ford and Ransom Eli Olds, inventors of conveyor belt production, James E. Casey, inventor of parcel services and founder of UPS, Norman Joseph Woodland, George Laurer and Bernard Silver, the inventors of the barcode, Lothar Raucamp, fighter for the cooperative idea in logistics and founder of Kravag, Gerhard Schäfer, initiator of the system concept and pioneer of storage logistics, Horst Mosolf, pioneer of vehicle logistics and inventor of specialised automotive transport, founder and CEO of Fedex Frederick W. Smith as well as Prof. Dr. Peer Witten as a pioneer of Internet trading and modern logistics.

The 13 new members have been voted out of 31 candidates by an international expert jury. 

The initiative is supported by the Federal Ministry of Transport as well as the relevant sector associations, media and companies, including the Port of Duisburg (duisport), Gebrüder Weiss, logistics insurer Kravag, the Fahrzeugwerk Bernard Krone company, intralogistics provider Still, the Federal Central Cooperative for Road Transport (SVG) and the TimoCom freight exchange.

The Hall can be accessed free of charge at any time at and features information and photos on logistics milestones and the people behind them. 

More information on all members:

Printable photos of all members:




The Logistics Hall of Fame was founded in 2003 and honours leading figures who have made outstanding efforts to promote the further development of logistics and supply chain management. This eternal pantheon is also designed to remind future generations of the achievements of these individuals in the service of logistics. The aim of the Logistics Hall of Fame is to act as a worldwide platform to publicise the performance capability of logistics and its importance for society. The Logistics Hall of Fame is a non-profit initiative supported by the world of politics, associations, the logistics industry and logistics science. The patron is Alexander Dobrindt, Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI).


Supporters of the Logistics Hall of Fame:

Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI)
German Association of Road Haulage, Logistics and Disposal (BGL)
German Association Materials Management, Purchasing and Logistics (BME)
German Association for Business, Transport and Logistics (BWVL)
Bundesvereinigung Logistik (BVL)
DVV Media Group, Deutsche Verkehrs-Zeitung (DVZ)
Association of German Freight Forwarders and Logistics Operators (DSLV)
Deutsches Verkehrsforum (DVF)
European Logistics Association (ELA)
International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations (FIATA)
International Road Transport Union (IRU)
Port of Duisburg (duisport)
Fahrzeugwerk Bernard Krone
Gebrüder Weiss
> Kravag
Lebensmittel Zeitung
Federal Central Cooperative for Road Transport (SVG)
trans aktuell


Reproduction free of charge. Courtesy copy requested

wuermser.communications  .  Anita Würmser  .  Eckherstraße 10b  .  85737 Ismaning

Phone +49 (0)89 958226-11  .  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . 


  • 24/7 GmbH
  • AEB
  • Baumann Paletten
  • Bundesministerium für Digitales und Verkehr
  • Bundesverband Güterkraftverkehr Logistik und Entsorgung
  • Bundesverband Materialwirtschaft, Einkauf und Logistik
  • Bundesverband Spedition und Logistik e. V. (DSLV)
  • Bundesverband Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Logistik
  • Bundesvereinigung Logistik
  • Deutsches Verkehrsforum
  • Duisburger Hafen AG
  • European Pallet Association e.V. (EPAL)
  • Exotec
  • Fritz Institute
  • GARBE Industrial Real Estate
  • Gebrüder Weiss
  • German Association of the Automotive Industry
  • German Parcel and Express Association (BPEX)
  • Goldbeck
  • Häfen und Güterverkehr Köln AG
  • HIAB
  • impact media projects
  • International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations
  • International Road Transport Union
  • Interroll Group
  • Krone
  • Lebensmittel Zeitung
  • LIP Invest
  • Locus Robotics
  • LOGISTIK-Kurier
  • LTG Landauer Transport- gesellschaft Doll
  • materialfluss
  • pfenning group
  • PSI Logistics
  • RIO - The Logistics Flow
  • Schnellecke Logistics
  • Seifert Logistics Group (SLG)
  • Setlog
  • SSI Schäfer
  • STILL (Donor)
  • TGW Logistics Group
  • trans aktuell
  • Wiltsche Fördersysteme
  • Winner Spedition