Gudrun Winner-Athens is the new member of the Logistics Hall of Fame

  • Gudrun Winner-Athens is voted into the Hall of Fame of logistics as a pioneer of intermodal transport. 
  • Gala reception on December 3, 2020 in the Wintergarten of the KaDeWe in Berlin.
  • The TRATON Logistics Leader of the Year Award 2020 goes to the CEO of Hermes Germany, Olaf Schabirosky. 

Ismaning near Munich, September 22, 2020. The Logistics Hall of Fame has a new member: Gudrun Winner-Athens. The managing partner of Spedition Winner and long-standing chairwoman of the advisory board of Kombiverkehr is regarded in Germany and Europe as a pioneer of intermodal transport.

“Gudrun Winner-Athens has made a significant contribution to the increase in importance and internationalisation of intermodal rail transport and is a much sought-after expert in road-rail combination. With her entry into the Logistics Hall of Fame, the international jury honours her continuous commitment to more environmentally friendly freight transport,” says Anita Würmser, executive jury chairwoman of the Logistics Hall of Fame, explaining the decision of the jury, which includes 70 well-known personalities from business, science, politics and the media in 13 nations.

Gudrun Winner-Athens professional life is closely linked to the history of intermodal transport. In order to promote the shift from road to rail, the entrepreneur has been active on the political stage since the 1990s in promoting harmonised rail markets in the EU. She works to improve the economic efficiency and attractiveness of the services offered in order to further expand national and international transport and to consolidate the status of intermodal transport in the long term. Under her leadership, Kombiverkehr Deutsche Gesellschaft für kombinierten Güterverkehr mbH & Co. KG became Europe's market leader in intermodal road-rail transport. 

Gudrun Winner-Athens will be officially inducted into the Logistics Hall of Fame at a gala reception on December 3 in Berlin. 


Gudrun Winner-Athens is the new member of the Logistics Hall of Fame,

Photos: LHOF/Thomas Willemsen


Olaf Schabirosky is TRATON Logistics Leader of the Year 2020

The TRATON Logistics Leader of the Year Award will also be presented during the reception. The trophy goes to Olaf Schabirosky, the CEO of Hermes Germany. Born in Hamburg, Schabirosky will be honoured as the “Moderniser and Change Manager”, who helped the parcel service provider to achieve a group turnover increase of 9.0 percent in the last financial year thanks to the consistent expansion of the infrastructure and the last mile as well as innovative digitalisation projects. The company, which is part of the Otto Group and has around 5,000 employees, also benefited from his activities during the 2020 lockdown phase. The logistics network never failed. Despite a volume increase of around 40 percent in April, Hermes was able to guarantee a consistently high delivery quality: More than 90 percent of all shipments were delivered the next day. And thanks to the digitalisation offensive, a task force led by the 52-year-old manager was able to develop and implement a digital solution for contactless delivery within 48 hours. 

With this award, the organisation honours the pacesetters and future leaders in logistics. Entrepreneurs and managers from the transport and logistics sector who have currently been particularly successful in promoting their companies or have achieved a trend-setting impulse are honoured. The focus is on topicality and the benefits for the company as well as innovative strength, sustainability and corporate change. The award is presented by the Logistics Hall of Fame and is donated by TRATON SE.

The decisive factor for an acceptance as a member of the Logistics Hall of Fame, however, is that an outstanding effort is not only of benefit to an individual company, but that it has significantly and permanently developed logistics beyond the boundaries of one's own organisation or has become an industry standard. So far, 36 logistics personalities have made it into the international Hall of Fame. 

The Hall of Fame can be accessed free of charge at any time at and offers information and pictures about the logistics milestones and the people behind.


Olaf Schabirosky is awarded TRATON Logistics Leader of the Year.

Photos: LHOF/Hendrik Lüders


Further information Gudrun Winner-Athens:

Further information Olaf Schabirosky:


Logistics Hall of Fame: 

The Logistics Hall of Fame was founded in 2003 and honours leading figures who have made outstanding efforts to promote the further development of logistics and supply chain management. This eternal pantheon is also designed to remind future generations of the achievements of these individuals in the service of logistics. The aim of the Logistics Hall of Fame is to act as a worldwide platform to publicise the performance capability of logistics and its importance for society. The Logistics Hall of Fame is a non-profit initiative supported by the world of politics, associations, the logistics industry and logistics science. The patron is Andreas Scheuer, Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) in Germany.


Circle of supporters of the Logistics Hall of Fame:

ADAC Truckservice

Arbeitsgemeinschaft Logistik-Initiativen Deutschlands

Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI)

Bundesverband Güterkraftverkehr Logistik und Entsorgung (BGL)

Bundesverband Materialwirtschaft, Einkauf und Logistik (BME)

Bundesverband Paket und Expresslogistik (BIEK)

Bundesverband Spedition und Logistik (DSLV)

Bundesverband Wirtschaft Verkehr und Logistik (BWVL)

Bundesvereinigung Logistik (BVL)



Deutsches Verkehrsforum (DVF)

Duisburger Hafen (duisport)

GARBE Industrial Real Estate

Gebr. Heinemann

Gebrüder Weiss



impact media projects

International Federation of Freight Forwarders 

Associations (FIATA)

Kögel Trailer

Lebensmittel Zeitung 


Logistics Alliance Germany (LAG)


LTG - Landauer Transportgesellschaft Doll



PSI Logistics

PTV Group

Schnellecke Logistics

Seifert Logistics


TGW Logistics Group

trans aktuell

TRATON (Donator)

Verband der Automobilindustrie (VDA)


Reproduction free of charge. Courtesy copy requested

Logistics Hall of Fame c/o impact media projects GmbH. Thilo Jörgl, Eckherstraße 10b, 85737 Ismaning, Germany.

Phone +0049 (0) 89 215384612. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. 



  • 24/7 GmbH
  • AEB
  • Baumann Paletten
  • Bundesministerium für Digitales und Verkehr
  • Bundesverband Güterkraftverkehr Logistik und Entsorgung
  • Bundesverband Materialwirtschaft, Einkauf und Logistik
  • Bundesverband Spedition und Logistik e. V. (DSLV)
  • Bundesverband Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Logistik
  • Bundesvereinigung Logistik
  • Deutsches Verkehrsforum
  • Duisburger Hafen AG
  • European Pallet Association e.V. (EPAL)
  • Exotec
  • Fritz Institute
  • GARBE Industrial Real Estate
  • Gebrüder Weiss
  • German Association of the Automotive Industry
  • German Parcel and Express Association (BPEX)
  • Goldbeck
  • Häfen und Güterverkehr Köln AG
  • HIAB
  • impact media projects
  • International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations
  • International Road Transport Union
  • Interroll Group
  • Krone
  • Lebensmittel Zeitung
  • LIP Invest
  • Locus Robotics
  • LOGISTIK-Kurier
  • LTG Landauer Transport- gesellschaft Doll
  • materialfluss
  • pfenning group
  • PSI Logistics
  • RIO - The Logistics Flow
  • Schnellecke Logistics
  • Seifert Logistics Group (SLG)
  • Setlog
  • SSI Schäfer
  • STILL (Donor)
  • TGW Logistics Group
  • trans aktuell
  • Wiltsche Fördersysteme
  • Winner Spedition