• Home
  • Blog
  • Logistics Hall of Fame inducts 13 new members

Logistics Hall of Fame inducts 13 new members

The motto for the 2016 voting period for the Logistics Hall of Fame was "Historic Milestones of Logistics" and in total, 13 big names from the field of transport, intralogistics, IT and insurance will be welcomed to the pantheon of the world's most famous logisticians this year. The new members complete the timeline of milestone achievements in logistics and illustrate how logistics has made life better and safer over the course of time.

The newly elected members are:

  • Franz von Taxis, Johann Baptista von Taxis: founders of the international postal system
  • Henry Ford, Ransom Eli Olds: inventors of assembly line production
  • James E. Casey: inventor of parcel services and founder of UPS
  • Norman Joseph Woodland, George Laurer, Bernard Silver: inventors of the barcode
  • Lothar Raucamp: fighter for the cooperative idea and founder of dedicated industry insurer Kravag
  • Gerhard Schäfer: initiator of the system concept and pioneer of storage logistics 
  • Horst Mosolf: pioneer of vehicle logistics
  • Frederick W. Smith: inventor of express logistics and founder of Fedex 
  • Peer Witten: paved the way for Internet commerce and modern logistics


Members of the Logistics Hall of Fame


  • Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur
  • Bundesverband Güterkraftverkehr Logistik und Entsorgung
  • Bundesverband Materialwirtschaft, Einkauf und Logistik
  • Bundesverband Spedition und Logistik e. V. (DSLV)
  • Bundesverband Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Logistik
  • Bundesvereinigung Logistik
  • CHEP
  • comepack
  • Deutsches Verkehrsforum
  • GARBE Industrial Real Estate
  • Gebr. Heinemann SE & Co. KG
  • Gebrüder Weiss
  • German Association of the Automotive Industry
  • German Parcel and Express Association (BIEK)
  • Hafen Duisburg AG
  • Humbaur
  • impact media projects
  • International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations
  • International Road Transport Union
  • Kögel Trailer
  • Lebensmittel Zeitung
  • LOGISTIK-Kurier
  • LT-manager
  • Panattoni Europe
  • PTV Group
  • Schnellecke Logistics
  • Seifert Logistics Group (SLG)
  • TGW Logistics Group
  • trans aktuell
  • UniCarriers