• Home
  • Blog
  • Standing Ovations for the Milestones in Logistics History

Standing Ovations for the Milestones in Logistics History

Magic moments in the historic Erich Klausener Hall of the German Transport Ministry in Berlin: on November 29, 170 guests of honour from politics, academia, industry and the media celebrated the official induction of the 13 new members into the logistics pantheon with standing ovations. The pictures of the evening.


 The glass-and-metal certificate was presented by the laudatory speakers of the evening, Dorothee Bär, Parliamentary State Secretary and Member of the German Bundestag Parliament, Hans-Otto Schrader, CEO of the Otto Group, Prof. Dr. Katja Windt, President of Jacobs University Bremen, Hall of Fame member Detthold Aden, Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Wolfgang Kersten, Director of the Institute of Business Logistics and General Management at the TU Hamburg-Harburg, the Executive Director of the Federal Central Cooperative for Road Transport (SVG), Werner Gockeln, and Dr. Jochen Köckler, member of the Board of Deutsche Messe AG. With their moving words of tribute, they honoured the achievements of the logistics pioneers and took the audience on a journey in time through the some of the defining moments of logistics history.

The Logistics Hall of Fame dedicated the 2016 vote to the “Historic Milestones of Logistics” in order to document outstanding achievements in logistics recorded before the year 2000. The new inductees include Franz von Taxis and Johann Baptista von Taxis, founders of the international postal system, Henry Ford and Ransom Eli Olds, inventors of conveyor belt production, James E. Casey, inventor of parcel services and founder of UPS, Norman Joseph Woodland, George Laurer and Bernard Silver, the inventors of the barcode, Lothar Raucamp, fighter for the cooperative idea in logistics and founder of Kravag, Gerhard Schäfer, initiator of the system concept and pioneer of storage logistics, Horst Mosolf, pioneer of vehicle logistics and inventor of specialised automotive transport, founder and CEO of Fedex Frederick W. Smith as well as Prof. Dr. Peer Witten as a pioneer of Internet trading and modern logistics.



  • ADAC Truckservice
  • Arbeitsgemeinschaft Logistik-Initiativen Deutschlands
  • Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur
  • Bundesverband Güterkraftverkehr Logistik und Entsorgung
  • Bundesverband Materialwirtschaft, Einkauf und Logistik
  • Bundesverband Spedition und Logistik e. V. (DSLV)
  • Bundesverband Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Logistik
  • Bundesvereinigung Logistik
  • CHEP
  • Deutsches Verkehrsforum
  • European Pallet Association e.V. (EPAL)
  • GARBE Industrial Real Estate
  • Gebr. Heinemann SE & Co. KG
  • Gebrüder Weiss
  • German Association of the Automotive Industry
  • German Parcel and Express Association (BIEK)
  • Group7
  • Hafen Duisburg AG
  • Humbaur
  • impact media projects
  • International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations
  • International Road Transport Union
  • Kögel Trailer
  • Lebensmittel Zeitung
  • Logistics Alliance Germany
  • LOGISTIK-Kurier
  • Logistische Informationssysteme AG
  • LT-manager
  • LTG Landauer Transport- gesellschaft Doll
  • PSI Logistics
  • PTV Group
  • Schnellecke Logistics
  • Seifert Logistics Group (SLG)
  • TGW Logistics Group
  • trans aktuell
  • TRATON (Donator)